The Menace Called Body Shaming.

Body Shaming:
“The practice of making critical, potentially humiliating comments about a person based on the shape, size or appearance of their body”.

Okay, breathe in, hold your breath, breathe out and reread the above sentence, Do you feel any emotion? YES? NO? If your answer is no then you have never been body shamed (the elite 20% with perfect bodies). It’s either that or you are the snare, the earth’s filth; the self-crowned body shamer.
Lol, chill okay, don’t be so riled up. A heart full of hate is not attractive.

Over the past three years, I have put on extra weight. I think I was a size 10 as of early 2017 and now I’m pushing size 14 (eyy God). You lot that constantly say “guy how far, wetin you dey chop?” or “oh you’re so fat now, what happened?” make it seem like God gave me stones instead of eyes and I can’t see that I’ve gained weight.

Body shaming is not just directed at fat people. It is you laughing at that skinny girl when she walks past or you and your friends dragging that guy for not having abs on the group chat(boys are not exempted). This is about you putting up an attitude to a guy solely because he is 5”5(I’m still working on that haha).

Well I only have adequate information about fat shaming since I myself have had to deal with it. I battled with major anxiety and depression (another gist LOL) for like three years or so. My best friend was food (not the good kind) and I could literally stay alone for days without seeing the sun and just munch on tons and tons of junk. My body began to change drastically. The funny thing is at first I was feeling myself (eyyy slim thick) until I blew up.

No motivational message here to see haha. I still like to eat. The difference now is my mental health is way better and I’m trying to be more intentional about what I put in my mouth and also maybe workout (is that determination I hear, Esther?). My friends know I can chip in “I have sausage hands” or “I’m shaped like a fridge” from time to time just for laughs but the reality is I have learned to love my body.


Naysayers & Body Shamers Association of Nigeria, I humbly implore you to desist from voicing your meagre opinions about the appearances of others. Don’t be afraid, you can silence the quickening in your belly that pushes you to pass such derogatory comments. Another successful way is to do what my president said and look away. May God grant you wisdom and clarity.


Love & Light.

Leave a comment, tell me about your experiences or what you like most about your body.

Disclaimer: Eat healthy, exercise, sleep, stay away from toxic relationships etc. I am in no way encouraging unhealthy habits. I just have a problem with people who make it their life’s work to remind others of what they perceive as their shortcomings. Queens, shall we?

Okay this post was a bit too serious, I apologise (or not).

7 thoughts on “The Menace Called Body Shaming.

  1. I’ve known you since we were in 100l and I noticed you added weight. I can however not imagine myself commenting on it. You’re not blind, I’m sure you noticed. As someone who also suffers from insecurities about her body, I agree with you. Please keep your comments to yourself. Let’s all learn to live ourselves while committing to do better by eating healthier and exercising.

    Like

Leave a comment